Easy Strawberry Sauce

Strawberry Sauce

Strawberry Sauce

So, I got a Belgian waffle maker for Christmas this year from my boys. I’ve been under the weather so now that I’m feeling better it was time to try it out! I love, love, love Belgian waffles and I wanted something more than butter and syrup to top them with so I made this super easy strawberry sauce based on the blueberry sauce also shared in this blog. If you’ve read my blog for a while, you know we pick strawberries every year in nearby Plant City so I used what I had frozen. This is so easy to make it’s ridiculous!

Not only was this delicious on our Belgian waffles, it would be yummy over some vanilla ice cream too! Before I get to the recipe, a word about sugar: I used the least amount of sugar to begin, tasted the mixutre after mashing the berries and added a bit more. Remember  you can always add more but you can’t take away!

Easy Strawberry Sauce

2 cups frozen strawberries

2-4 tablespoons sugar

1 teaspoon cornstarch

3 tablespoons water

Combine strawberries and sugar in medium saucepan over medium low heat. Stir occasionally and when sugar melts, remove from heat. Mash strawberries with fork, spoon, potato masher or pastry cutter, leaving some chunks for texture. Return to heat and bring mixture to a boil. In measuring cup combine the cornstarch and water until cornstarch is dissolved. When mixture boils, add cornstarch and stir to combine. Boil, stirring frequently, for an additional 2 – 4 minutes or until mixture thickens. Serve with pancakes, waffles or over ice cream.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Desserts, Make It Special, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

