Original Chex Mix – Memories of Christmas

The Original Chex Mix

The Original Chex Mix

My Mom always made this EVERY holiday season. Since she’s no longer able, it’s now my job because it’s not only a family favorite, it’s a family tradition.I love it, my boys love it, neighbors and friends love it, my husband does not love it. More for us!

My brother, Craig, who was visiting last week enjoyed a good deal of it and I sent the rest on the plane with him as a snack. I bet the people sitting around him were jealous.

This recipe is my Mom’s that she clipped, possibly from a magazine too many years ago to mention. It’s in a journal type book with other clipped and hand-written recipes I will treasure until the end of my days. This particular clipping is worn, the page in the book actually detached but now repaired by me so it doesn’t get lost. There’s even a torn piece of paper with Chex Mix written on it as a makeshift bookmark so it’s easily found. Plus, her notes are invaluable.

Many many not know that the Original Chex mix did not have bagel chips or pretzels or anything else than what’s here. I know, my Mom’s been making this for close to 40 years, if not longer. In recent years there have been boatloads of recipes with Chex but, to me, this original is best. My Mom made one substitution and that was garlic powder for the seasoned salt. When my Dad was put on a salt-free diet, she made the substitution. I don’t even remember it the other way. Oh and it’s Chex Party Mix, not just Chex mix. Perfect for any party. It’s also great for hostess gifts, treats in your cookie tin and an after school snack.

Use a 9 x 13 inch pan it’s easier to stir with higher sides.

Chex Party Mix

6 tablespoons margarine

1 teaspoon garlic powder

4 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce

2 cups Chex Corn cereal

2 cups Chex Rice cereal

2 cups Chex Wheat cereal

1 1/2 cups mixed nuts

Melt margarine and pour into 9 x 13 inch pan. Stir in garlic powder and Worcestershire sauce. Add Chex cereals and nuts, stirring until all pieces are coated. Heat in 275 degree oven for 45 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes. Spread out onto absorbent paper towel to cool.

Makes 7 1/2 cups.

This entry was posted in Christmas, Comfort Food, Company Worthy, Entertaining, Kid's Favorites, Makes A Great Gift and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

