Nutella – Is there anything better?

I discovered Nutella in 1987 when I took a trip to the former Yugoslavia with my brother, Craig, and a group of his friends. What intrigued me the most was the fact that these little containers were offered at breakfast. Chocolate for breakfast? Why not?!

Well, after that first bite of Nutella slathered on a fresh, flaky, buttery croissant, I was hooked. I couldn’t get enough! I bought a jar (and what a pretty jar it was) and devoured it along the trip. I’m going to digress for a moment and tell you about that jar. It was a pressed glass jar that I still have today.

There are so many wonderful things you can do with Nutella. In addition to slathering it on a croissant there are many recipes. Food Network chef Giada De Laurentiis uses it frequently in recipes on her show. The Nutella sandwich has got to be one of my favorites! It’s basically Nutella and bread. Then she has a chocolate-hazelnut ravioli. What a great dessert idea. The possibilities are endless with Nutella.

Some of my favorite snacks using Nutella are to dip pretzels in it as well as smear some on a ‘Nilla wafer and top with another ‘Nilla wafer for a ‘Nilla Nutella sandwich.

This entry was posted in Favorite Things. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

