Favorite Things – Puff Pastry

People who know me well know I love to use puff pastry. I don’t make it, although at some point I would like to make it just from scratch once. I use Pepperidge Farm puff pastry for everything from appetizers to entrees to desserts. The flakiness of the layers is what draws me to this pastry. I use both the puff pastry sheets and the puff pastry shells.

The Pepperidge Farm website has some great puff pastry recipes. Visit the site at www.pepperidgefarm.com.  I use it often so I’m sure I’ll be posting some recipes in the future. But if you want a quick dessert try this:

A favorite dessert is to thaw 1/2 a package of puff pastry sheets as directed on the box and cut into 4 equal squares. Mound some milk chocolate chips, semi sweet chips or white chocolate chips or a combination of these in the center of each square. If you like nuts, chop some pecans or walnuts and add to the chocolate chip mixutre. Use only about 1 1/2 tablespoons of the mixture on each square. Bring corners of pastry up around mixture and twist to seal. Brush with an egg wash (1 egg mixed with 1 teaspoon water and beaten). Bake at 400 degrees F. for about 20 minutes or until pastry is golden. Remove from oven and place on individual plates. Dust with a sprinkling of powdered sugar. Makes 4 purses.

This entry was posted in Favorite Things. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

