The Barefoot Contessa’s Zucchini Pancakes – Oh So Good!

I’ve never been a huge fan of zucchini, probably because I’ve only had it cooked a few ways that I enjoy it. My friend, Kelly, served us a zucchini medley a few years back that was delicious and easy but I’ve yet to duplicate it at home. Then I saw Ina Garten, aka The Barefoot Contessa, make these zucchini pancakes and I had to try them. If you read my post on the spatchcocked¬†chicken and vegetables, as promised, here is the recipe for zucchini pancakes. The are really surprisingly delicious and easy to make. They cook up quickly and, although you can keep them warm in the oven, I suggest preparing the mixture and cooking them at the last-minute. If you’re serving them with an entree that needs to rest, it’s the perfect time to make these. They take about 5 minutes to cook. Recipe note: Don’t use olive oil here. Use a neutral oil like canola or vegetable oil.

Zucchini Pancakes

Zucchini Pancakes

2 medium zucchini

2 tablespoons grated sweet onion

2 large eggs, slightly beaten

6 to 8 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Unsalted butter and vegetable oil

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees F. (to keep the pancakes warm)

Grate the zucchini into a bowl using the large side of a box grater. Immediately stir in the onion and eggs. Stir in 6 tablespoons of the flour, the baking soda, salt and pepper. (If the batter gets too thin from the liquid in the zucchini, add the remaining 2 tablespoons of flour.)

Heat a large (10 – 12 inch) saute pan over medium heat and melt 1/2 tablespoon butter and 1/2 tablespoon oil together in the pan. When the butter is hot but not smoking, lower heat to medium-low and drop heaping soup spoons of batter into the pan. Swirl the back of the spoon around the batter to even out the pancake. Cook the pancakes about 2 minutes on each side, until golden brown.

If keeping the pancakes warm in the oven, place cooked pancakes on a baking sheet and keep warm in oven for up to 30 minutes. Serves: 10 (3-inch pancakes)

This entry was posted in Side Dishes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Barefoot Contessa’s Zucchini Pancakes – Oh So Good!

  1. Cherie says:

    I happened upon this, surfing through television shows one day, and boy! Am I glad I saw the Barefoot Contessa taste testing one! I knew I had to try them, and I did! Posted pictures at my Facebook page and on my recipe tab on my blog! Awesome goodness! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

